Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2: Digital Photography Review (2024)

Instagram TikTok YouTube Twitter Facebook Newsletter Submit a News Tip!

Reading mode: Light Dark

Login | Register

NewsReviewsArticlesBuying GuidesSample ImagesVideosCamerasLensesPhonesPrintersForumsGalleriesChallenges

Brand indexPanasonicPanasonic Interchangeable Lens Cameras

Announced Nov 4, 2010 •

12 megapixels | 3 screen | Four Thirds sensor

  • Home
  • Specs
  • Review
  • Samples
  • User reviews (2)
  • Buy

Add this product to your shortlist for comparison

70%DPReview score

Reviewed Feb 24, 2011

39 sample photos

Review

Buy on Amazon.com

User reviews

(2)

See all user reviews

Write your user review

Questions & Answers

56 questions asked

Ask a new question

Gear list

99 6 98
I own it I want it I had it

Product description

Announced Nov 4, 2010

Discuss in the Panasonic Compact Camera Talk forum

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 is a simplified version of the company's GF1, it inherits the same flat-body design but with revised control layout and touch-screen control. It is built around a 12MP CMOS sensor but with a more powerful processor than its predecessor, allowing AVCHD video recording of 1080i60 movies from 1080p30 capture. It is also compatible with the company's recently released 3D lens.

Product timeline

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 review

Review, Feb 24, 2011

Just Posted: Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 in-depth Review

Feb 24, 2011

Panasonic GF2 announced and previewed

Nov 4, 2010

Quick specs

Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor size Four Thirds (17.3 x 13 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
Lens mount Micro Four Thirds
Focal length mult. 2×
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Max shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Format AVCHD, Motion JPEG
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
Weight (inc. batteries) 310 g (0.68 lb / 10.93 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 68 x 33 mm (4.45 x 2.68 x 1.3)
GPS None

See full specifications

Our review

The GF2 sees Panasonic packing a lot of approachable creative control into a compact package, with one of the best-implemented touchscreens we've ever seen on a camera. It's fast and responsive with excellent raw image quality, but the JPEG output is disappointing.

Good for: Upgraders from compact cameras looking for higher image quality and easy creative control

Not so good for: Users looking for excellent images straight out of the camera without having to use raw

70%DPReview score

Read the full review

Scoring

Build quality

Ergonomics & handling

Features

Metering & focus accuracy

Image quality (raw)

Image quality (jpeg)

Low light / high ISO performance

Viewfinder / screen rating

Performance

Movie / video mode

Value

Panasonic DMC GF2 Review Samples

39 images • Posted on Feb 24, 2011 • View gallery

Latest reviews

Leica D-Lux 8

Pentax 17

Nikon Z6III

Panasonic Lumix DC-GH7

Panasonic Lumix DC-S9

See all reviews »

Finished challenges

COMFY! by old shutter bugger
from People Asleep
Southern Stingray and Bar Jack by Mushmich
from Underwater Nature – Unlimited
jumping spider by Deadfisheye
from Fortnight 28: My Best Non-bird Photo Shot after 2024-06-10
Dresden by Anadrol
from Rain

Discover more challenges »

Most popular cameras

Canon EOS R75.7%Leica D-Lux 84.5%Nikon Z6III2.0%Nikon Zf1.5%Sony a7CR1.5%Sony a67001.4%Fujifilm X100VI1.2%Nikon Z81.1%Canon EOS R6 Mark II1.0%Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark III1.0%

Popular interchangable lens cameras »

Popular compact cameras »

Features

In-depth testingLatest Camera ReviewsBeyond the studio testsFeature Articles and Videossee how we seeSample GalleriesThrowback ThursdayClassic Cameras from Days PastWhat's that Noise?Shedding some light on the sources of noise

Top threads

58Getting used to the 4:3 aspect ratio, why do you like it?
52Nikon ZF price drop in UK - Is it necessary?
44Which of the 3 lenses would you recommend?
44New Z9 FW rumored …
43Exposure Compensation Dial - What The Heck?
36Do you use screen or viewfinder?
29Photographic competence, habits and mundanity
23****Mini Challenge #750**** THE RESULTS
23Sony 20-70 - downsize my 16-35 GM II and 24-70 GM II into one lens
22Fujifilm to Revive a Camera Line in 2024 that Most of Us Thought Axed?
22Deciding what to do... Thoughts?
22Z 24-120 f/4 S Control Ring
21Post pictures of 'outdoor art' that you've traveled to see
20X-T50 DEAD in under three weeks.
20Nostalgia
20Diffraction, Resolution, and Visible Differences
19Are extenders/teleconverters merely a hinderance if the sensor outperforms the lens?
19Can you please help me choose a macro lens (and system)?
19Sigma RF-S lenses
18Trading my OM-1 MK2 mk
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2: Digital Photography Review (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Francesca Jacobs Ret

Last Updated:

Views: 6095

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (68 voted)

Reviews: 83% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Francesca Jacobs Ret

Birthday: 1996-12-09

Address: Apt. 141 1406 Mitch Summit, New Teganshire, UT 82655-0699

Phone: +2296092334654

Job: Technology Architect

Hobby: Snowboarding, Scouting, Foreign language learning, Dowsing, Baton twirling, Sculpting, Cabaret

Introduction: My name is Francesca Jacobs Ret, I am a innocent, super, beautiful, charming, lucky, gentle, clever person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.